Our Monks - Douai Abbey

Go to content
Who we are

The Douai Community

The monastic community of Douai Abbey currently numbers 24 monks, though not all of them are resident in the monastery. Some monks live in the parishes we serve, while others serve the Church in other roles. Below you can see the members of the community and some, but not all, of what we do.

Right. Rev. Geoffrey Scott has been Abbot since 1998. He also acts as Librarian and Archivist and teaches Church history at Blackfriars Hall, Oxford. Currently he is also President of the Catholic Archives Society.

Very Rev. Alban Hood is Prior of the monastery as well as Novice Master, Choir Master, Vocation Director and co-editor of The Douai Magazine.

Right. Rev. Finbar Kealy is Cathedral Prior of Canterbury and the monastery Guestmaster.

Right. Rev. Edmund Power resides in Rome, where he is Procurator General for the English Benedictine Congregation.

Fr. Gervase Holdaway is Subprior of the monastery, director of oblates, retreat giver, baker and manager of our bookshop.

Very Rev. Godric Timney is Cathedral Prior of Worcester, and resides in our parishes of Ormskirk and Scarisbrick (Lancs) where he is Parish Priest.  He also serves as Vicar for Religious in Liverpool diocese.

Fr. Bernard Swinhoe is retired and helps with the monastery gardens.

Fr. Louis O’Dwyer is retired, though an avid reader.

Fr. Nicholas Broadbridge is semi-retired, and offers spiritual direction.

Fr. Boniface Moran resides in our parishes of Ormskirk and Scarisbrick, where he is the assistant priest.

Fr Peter Bowe is Parish Priest of Woolhampton and sits on the abbot’s council.

Fr. Austin Gurr resides in Andover (Hants) where he is the Parish Priest.

Fr. Oliver Holt is the monastic Bursar, Master of Ceremonies (MC), and organizer of concerts in the abbey church. He also sits on the abbot’s council.

Fr. Alexander Austin is Parish Priest of historic Stratford-upon-Avon (Warks).

Fr. Francis Hughes resides in Kemerton (Gloucs) where he is Parish Priest, and sits on the Marriage Tribunal for Clifton diocese.

Fr. Richard Jones is Parish Priest of Burry Port with Kidwelly (Carms), and is editor of the Ordo for the English Benedictine Congregation.

Fr. Paul Gunter is the Parish Priest of Alcester (Warks). He also serves as Secretary for the Department of Christian Life & Worship of the Conference of Bishops of England & Wales.

Fr. Benedict Thompson resides in Warwickshire, where he is Parish Priest of Studley.

Fr. Benjamin Standish is assistant priest of Woolhampton parish. As well as being a member of the monastery guest team, he has overall charge of our gardens.

Br. Christopher Greener, a deacon, is monastic Infirmarian and assists from time to time in our pastoral programme.

Br. Simon Hill, a deacon, is assistant to the Bursar, properties manager, and looks after our cars.

Fr. Hugh Somerville-Knapman is Administrator of the abbey church, Sacristan, webmaster, produce monastery publications and sits on the abbot’s council.

Fr. Gabriel Wilson is Pastoral Programme Director, vocation director, keeper of bees and poultry and helps in the monastic garden.

Back to content